Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

ABOUT THE OIPRD

The Office of the Independent Police Review Director (OIPRD) is responsible for receiving, managing and overseeing all public complaints about the police in Ontario. The OIPRD accepts complaints about the conduct of a police officer or the policies and services of a police department. Conduct complaints are about how a police officer behaves. Policies of a police department are the rules and standards that guide an officer in delivering police services. Services are how effectively and efficiently a particular department performs its duties.

In addition to processing and investigating public complaints, the OIPRD is responsible for administering the public complaints system. This includes:

Oversight

The OIPRD’s oversight role begins with the receipt of a public complaint and continues to the end of the investigation. The chiefs of police and Commissioner of the OPP are responsible for disciplining police officers and holding disciplinary hearings.

Systemic Reviews and Audits

The OIPRD works to identify and offer solutions to systemic or ongoing issues within police services and is responsible for performing audits to ensure the complaints system is being administered effectively.

Education and Outreach

Our office is responsible for teaching the public and the police about the complaints system. The OIPRD also seeks feedback from the public – both community members and police – who have been involved in the public complaints process.

Jurisdiction

The OIPRD has jurisdiction over municipal and regional police services and the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP). The OIPRD may only investigate sworn police officers in Ontario. This does not include: RCMP officers, TTC special constables, GO Transit police, First Nations Police Officers, court officers, campus police, provincial offences officers or special constables.

Independent Civilian Oversight

The OIPRD was established under the Independent Police Review Act, 2007, and began work on October 19, 2009, as an independent, neutral, arm’s-length agency of the Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General. The act requires that the Director must never have been a police officer and that staff of the OIPRD cannot be serving police officers. This means that all employees of the OIPRD are civilians.

As an independent civilian oversight agency, we make sure that public complaints about police are dealt with in a manner that is transparent, effective and fair to both the public and the police. We work cooperatively with both complainants and police to investigate and resolve complaints. We make our decisions independently of the government, the police and the public.


Memorandum of Understanding (MOU)
The MOU is an administrative agreement between the Attorney General and the OIPRD that reflects the accountability framework and guides the mutual understanding of responsibilities of both the responsible minister and the Independent Police Review Director.


Goals and Guiding Principles

Our goal is to provide effective oversight of public complaints, promote accountability of police services across Ontario and increase public confidence in the complaints system.

We do this through:

  • oversight of public complaints through to their conclusion
  • investigation of complaints
  • education and outreach to both police and the public
  • audits of how the complaints system is administered
  • systemic reviews
  • encouraging resolution of complaints

Our vision is for an easily accessible public complaints system that upholds the public’s trust, investigates the complaints that require investigation in a fair, accountable, transparent and effective manner, and has respect for all stakeholders’ sensitivities.

In fulfilling our commitments we are guided by the principles of:

  • accountability: improving the transparency and accountability of the public complaints system and maintaining accountability for our actions to our stakeholders
  • integrity: providing professional, objective, timely services to all stakeholders; respecting the privacy and dignity of our stakeholders and treating them fairly
  • independence: overseeing investigations by police services in a fair, transparent and effective manner and conducting independent investigations thoroughly and fairly
  • accessibility: being accessible to the public to lodge complaints about police and building public awareness about the complaints system.

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

LE BDIEP EN BREF

Le Bureau de directeur indépendant de l’examen de la police (BDIEP) a la responsabilité de recevoir, de gérer et de superviser les plaintes du public sur la police en Ontario. Le BDIEP reçoit les plaintes sur la conduite d’un policier ou les politiques et services d’un corps de police. Les plaintes relatives à la conduite visent le comportement d’un agent de police. Les politiques d’un service de police sont les règles et normes qui guident les agents dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions. Les plaintes relatives au service portent sur l’efficacité et l’efficience d’un corps de police à remplir ses fonctions. Il se charge également d'enquêter relativement à certaines plaintes du public.
En plus de traiter et d'enquêter des plaintes publiques, le BDIEP est responsable d'administrer le système de plaintes public. Ceci inclut :

Surveillance

Le BDIEP surveille le traitement des plaintes, de la réception des demandes à la fin des enquêtes. Les chefs de police et le commissaire de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario demeurent responsables des mesures disciplinaires imposées aux agents concernés et de la tenue des audiences disciplinaires.

Examens et vérifications systémiques

Le BDIEP s'efforce de cerner et de résoudre les problèmes permanents et systémiques au sein des services de police, et effectue des vérifications pour assurer la gestion efficace du système de plaintes.

Promotion des services et éducation

Le BDIEP a pour mandat de faire connaître le système de plaintes du public à la population et à la police. Le BDIEP cherche aussi les commentaires du public - les membres de la communauté et la police - qui ont été impliqués dans le processus de plaintes du public.

Compétence du BDIEP

La compétence du BDIEP s’étend aux services policiers municipaux et régionaux et à la Police provinciale de l’Ontario.
Le BDIEP ne peut enquêter que sur des agents de police assermentés, ce qui exclut les agents de la GRC, les gendarmes spéciaux de la Commission de transport de Toronto, les agents de GO Transit, les agents de police des Premières Nations, les gendarmes des tribunaux et la police de campus, les agents des infractions provinciales et les agents spéciaux.

Surveillance civil et indépendant

Le Bureau du directeur indépendant de l’examen de la police (BDIEP) a été créé aux termes de la Loi de 2007 sur l’examen indépendant de la police. Le BDIEP, un organisme neutre et indépendant chapeauté par le ministère du Procureur général, a ouvert ses portes le 19 octobre 2009. Selon la Loi, un agent de police ou un ancien agent de police ne doit pas être nommé directeur indépendant d’examen de la police, et un agent de police ne doit pas être nommé à titre de personne employée dans le BDIEP. Cela signifie que tous les employés du BDIEP sont des employés civils.

En tant qu’organisme de surveillance civil et indépendant, le BDIEP veille à ce que les plaintes contre la police soient traitées de façon transparente, efficace et équitable à l’égard du public et de la police. Nous travaillons en collaboration avec les plaignants et la police pour enquêter sur les plaintes et les régler. Le BDIEP rend des décisions indépendamment du gouvernement, de la police et du public.

Protocole d'entente
Le protocole d'entente est une entente administrative entre le procureur général et le BDIEP qui établit le cadre de responsabilisation et guide la compréhension mutuelle des responsabilités du ministre responsable et du directeur indépendant de l'examen de la police.



Objectif et buts

L’objectif du BDIEP consiste à offrir une surveillance efficace des plaintes contre la police et à favoriser la responsabilisation des services policiers dans la province en vue d’accroître la confiance de la population envers le système de traitement des plaintes.

Cet objectif est atteint grâce :

  • à la surveillance des plaintes du public, de la réception des demandes jusqu’à la fin des enquêtes;
  • aux enquêtes sur les plaintes;
  • à l’éducation et à la sensibilisation de la police et du public;
  • aux vérifications sur la gestion du système de traitement des plaintes;
  • aux examens systémiques;
  • à l’appui offert pour le règlement des plaintes.

Le BDIEP aspire à créer un système de traitement des plaintes du public facile d’accès qui maintient la confiance de la population, permet d’enquêter au besoin sur les plaintes de manière équitable, responsable, transparente et efficace, et respecte les sensibilités des intervenants.

Pour respecter ses engagements, le BDIEP applique les principes suivants :

  • L’obligation de rendre compte : améliorer la transparence du système de traitement des plaintes du public et l’obligation de rendre compte qui doit y être liée, et favoriser la reddition de comptes sur les mesures prises auprès des intervenants;
  • Intégrité : offrir des services professionnels, impartiaux et rapides aux intervenants, respecter leur vie privée et leur dignité et les traiter équitablement;
  • Indépendance : surveiller les enquêtes menées par les services de police avec équité, transparence et efficacité, et mener des enquêtes indépendantes rigoureuses et équitables;
  • Accessibilité : favoriser l’accessibilité du public au système de dépôt de plaintes contre la police et renseigner la population sur le système de traitement de ces plaintes.

 

​​