Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Investigations

All complaints that are screened in will proceed to an investigation, unless the complainant and respondent officer have opted for Informal Resolution prior to an investigation. How a complaint is investigated depends on whether it is a conduct, policy or service complaint.

Conduct Complaints

Conduct complaints will be either referred to back to the police service in question for an investigation or retained by the OIPRD for investigation.
In deciding to refer or retain a conduct complaint, the Director may consider:
  • The effect of a decision to deal or not to deal with a complaint on public confidence in the accountability and integrity of the complaints system 
  • The number of complainants involved 
  • The seriousness of the complaint, including the seriousness of the harm alleged 
  • Whether the complaint relates to an incident or event that has already been the subject of an earlier complaint 
  • Whether there are issues of systemic importance or broader public interest at stake 
  • The likelihood of interfering with or compromising other proceedings 
  • Whether another venue, body or law can more appropriately address the substance of the complaint 

Referred Investigations

When a complaint is referred to a police service, an officer in the service’s professional standards unit, or an officer designated by the police chief where a service does not have a professional standards unit, will conduct the investigation. The OIPRD continues to manage and oversee that complaint. 

OIPRD case coordinators track the referred investigation as it progresses, and coordinate with police service liaison officers, as well as complainants, to ensure that all directions, timelines and notice requirements are met. Case coordinators also receive and review interim investigative updates from the police service and work together with our legal unit and Director if issues arise.

If the OIPRD does not agree with the way the investigation is handled, the Director can direct the chief to deal with a complaint in a specific manner, assign the investigation to another service, take over the investigation or take or impose any action necessary.

Retained Investigations

When a complaint is retained by the OIPRD, the investigation is conducted by OIPRD investigators. Complaints retained for investigation may be more complex or involve serious allegations. 

If, during the course of the investigation, the Director discovers evidence that an officer may have committed a crime, the matter will be referred to the police for further investigation. The OIPRD does not have the authority to conduct criminal investigations.

Investigation Timelines

The Police Services Act requires that respondent officers be given notice of a hearing within six months of the decision to retain or refer a complaint for investigation. To ensure this timeline is met, the OIPRD has set a performance measure of 120 days for a conduct complaint to be completed once a decision is made to retain or refer a complaint for investigation. More complex investigations often take longer than six months. In these cases, time extensions must be requested from the relevant police services board.

Regardless of whether the OIPRD or the police investigate a complaint, the investigator is expected to tell the complainant:
  • How the complaint will be investigated
  • What cooperation is required from the complainant
  • How a decision will be reached
  • What action will be taken at the end of the investigation 

Investigative reports

Investigative reports are standardized. OIPRD investigators and police investigators use the same format when reporting on conduct complaints. Investigative reports include:
  • A summary of the complaint
  • A summary of statements from those involved, including the complainant, respondent officer(s) and civilian and officer witnesses
  • References to any information referred to or relied upon
  • A description of the actual investigation
  • Reference to code of conduct allegations, which are determined through investigation
  • An analysis and conclusion of whether there are reasonable grounds to substantiate misconduct under the Police Services Act

Reasonable Grounds

The Police Services Act states that there must be reasonable grounds to believe that misconduct occurred in order for a complaint to be substantiated. Reasonable grounds in a police complaints context are facts or circumstances of a case that would lead an ordinary and cautious person to believe that misconduct occurred. This belief must be more than a suspicion or an opinion of misconduct and must be objectively based on factual evidence. 

Investigation Outcomes

All complaints, whether investigated by a police service or by the OIPRD, will have one of three possible outcomes – unsubstantiated, substantiated less serious or substantiated serious.

In cases where a police service investigates, the chief determines whether the complaint is substantiated or unsubstantiated according to the standards set out in the legislation. The complainant, the respondent officer and the OIPRD receive the same report. The OIPRD reviews the investigative report and if issues are identified, the Director instructs the police service appropriately. This may include directions such as answering questions, interviewing witnesses or gathering further evidence. 

Where the OIPRD investigates, the Director determines whether there are reasonable grounds to substantiate the complaint. If the complaint is substantiated, the Director will also determine whether the matter is serious or less serious. If the Director determines there are no reasonable grounds, the complaint is unsubstantiated. A copy of the investigative report, along with the Director’s findings, is sent to the complainant and the chief of police. The chief is also provided with a copy for the respondent officer.

Unsubstantiated Complaints

Complaints may also be found to be unsubstantiated if there are no reasonable grounds to conclude a violation of the police code of conduct occurred. The complaint is then considered closed, subject to a request for a review of the chief’s or OPP Commissioner’s decision. If the OIPRD investigated the complaint, the only means to review the decision is by a judicial review.

Substantiated Less Serious Complaints

If a complaint is substantiated it is further determined whether the complaint is less serious or serious in nature. Less serious complaints may be resolved informally if everyone agrees, or if Informal Resolution fails, the chief can resolve the matter through a disposition without a hearing.

If a complainant disagrees with an investigation by the police where the complaint is found to be unsubstantiated or less serious, the complainant may ask the OIPRD to review the decision. If a complainant disagrees with an investigation by the OIPRD, the only means to review the decision is by a judicial review.

Less serious complaints include matters dealing with:
  • Personal property, other than money or a firearm
  • Failure to treat or protect a person equally
  • The use of profane, abusive or insulting language
  • Contraventions of the act or regulations
  • Acting in a disorderly manner
  • Neglect of duty
  • Failure to work in accordance with orders
  • Failure to report a matter
  • Omitting to make any necessary entry in a record
  • Improper dress or appearance
  • Conspiring and abetting any misconduct listed above

Substantiated Serious Complaints

Where the conduct is determined to be serious, the chief must hold a disciplinary hearing.

Matters considered to be serious may include: 
  • Harassment
  • Discrimination
  • Breach of confidentiality
  • Unlawful or unnecessary exercise of authority
  • Misconduct or conduct that might result in a criminal charge
  • Discreditable conduct
  • Neglect of Duty

Screening Complaints about Police Chiefs and Deputy Chiefs

Complaints about municipal and regional police chiefs and deputy chiefs are handled differently as these officers are employed by a police services board. When the OIPRD receives a complaint about a police chief or a deputy chief, the complaint is screened in the same way as any other complaint. However, the Police Services Act states that the OIPRD must send the complaint and the screening decision to the appropriate police services board for review, as chiefs and deputy chiefs are employed directly by the boards. The police services board must then determine whether the alleged conduct may constitute a criminal offence, misconduct or unsatisfactory work performance and report its determination to the OIPRD.

If the board is of the opinion that the conduct of the police chief or deputy chief is not a criminal offence or misconduct, the board takes no action in response to the complaint and notifies the complainant, the chief or deputy chief and the OIPRD of the decision in writing, with reasons. The complainant cannot appeal the board’s decision but may file a request for a judicial review. 

If the police services board decides that there may be misconduct, the board must send the complaint back to the OIPRD for investigation. Following an investigation, the OIPRD provides a written report to the police services board indicating whether the complaint is substantiated – serious or less serious – or unsubstantiated. If the complaint is unsubstantiated, the board takes no action in response to the complaint and notifies the complainant and the chief or deputy chief of the decision.

If the complaint is substantiated as less serious, the complaint may be informally resolved if the chief or deputy chief and the complainant agree. If either party does not agree, the board can impose a penalty. If the chief or deputy chief disagrees with the penalty, the complaint must go to a hearing. 

If the complaint is substantiated as serious, the board must either hold a hearing into the matter or refer the matter to the Ontario Civilian Police Commission to hold the hearing.

Complaints about the OPP Commissioner or Deputy Commissioners

As required by the Police Services Act, complaints received about the OPP Commissioner and deputy commissioners are referred to the Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services to be dealt with. While the OIPRD may receive complaints about the OPP Commissioner and deputy commissioners, the OIPRD does not investigate or oversee these complaints. 

Policy and Service Complaints

The OIPRD screens complaints about policies and services of a police organization and oversees each complaint, but we cannot investigate them. The Police Services Act requires that all policy and service complaints be sent to the appropriate police chief or the OPP Commissioner for a response. The chief or Commissioner has 60 days to provide a written report on all policy and service complaints to the complainant, the OIPRD and the police services board outlining their decision to take action or to take no action, with reasons.
Decisions made by the Commissioner regarding provincial OPP policies cannot be appealed.  

In the case of municipal and regional services, the complainant may appeal the chief’s decision to the appropriate police services board within 30 days of receiving the decision.

The OPP has both local and provincial policies. Local OPP policies are developed by a police services board to guide an OPP detachment providing municipal or regional services. A decision regarding local OPP policies may be appealed to the local police services board. 
When a board receives a request for a review, it must:
  • Advise the chief of police of the request
  • Review the complaint and take any action, or no action, in response to the complaint as it considers appropriate
  • Notify the chief of police, the complainant and the OIPRD in writing of its disposition of the complaint with reasons
If the board has more than three members, it also has the following options:
  • ​Appoint a committee of at least three members (two of whom constitute a quorum) to review the complaint and make recommendations to the board after the review is complete
  • While conducting a review, the board or committee of the board may hold a public meeting with respect to the complaint but it is not mandatory
  • Consider the recommendations of the committee and take any action, or no action, in response to the complaint as it considers appropriate
  • Notify the complainant, chief of police and the OIPRD in writing of its disposition of the complaint with reasons

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Enquêtes

Toutes les plaintes acceptées au terme de l’examen préliminaire feront l’objet d’une enquête, à moins que le plaignant et l’agent mis en cause n’aient opté pour une résolution informelle avant une enquête. La façon dont une plainte fait l’objet d’une enquête dépend de la question de savoir s’il s’agit d’une plainte concernant la conduite, la politique ou le service.

Plaintes concernant la conduite

Les plaintes concernant la conduite sont renvoyées au service de police en question pour une enquête ou retenues par le BDIEP pour enquête.

En décidant de renvoyer ou de conserver une plainte concernant la conduite, le directeur peut envisager :
  • L’effet d’une décision de traiter ou non une plainte sur la confiance du public dans la responsabilité et l’intégrité du système de traitement des plaintes. 
  • Le nombre de plaignants en cause 
  • La gravité de la plainte, y compris la gravité du préjudice allégué 
  • La plainte concerne-t-elle un incident ou un événement qui a déjà fait l’objet d’une plainte antérieure? 
  • La question de savoir si les problèmes ont une importance systémique ou si un intérêt public plus large est en jeu 
  • La probabilité de perturber ou de compromettre d’autres procédures 
  • Si un autre lieu, organisme ou texte législatif serait plus approprié pour aborder adéquatement le contenu de la plainte 

Enquêtes sur plaintes renvoyées

Lorsqu’une plainte est renvoyée à un service de police, un agent de l’unité de normes professionnelles du service ou un agent désigné par le chef de police (si le service ne possède pas d’unité de normes professionnelles) effectuera l’enquête. Le BDIEP continue de gérer et de surveiller cette plainte. 

Les coordonnateurs des cas du BDIEP suivent l’enquête à mesure qu’elle progresse et se coordonnent avec les agents de liaison des services de police, ainsi qu’avec les plaignants, afin de s’assurer que les directives, les échéanciers et les exigences relatives aux avis sont respectés. De plus, les coordonnateurs de cas reçoivent et examinent les mises à jour intérimaires d’enquête du service de police et collaborent avec notre unité juridique et notre directeur si des problèmes surviennent.

Si le BDIEP n’est pas d’accord avec la façon dont l’enquête est traitée, le directeur peut ordonner au chef de traiter une plainte d’une manière spécifique, assigner l’enquête à un autre service, reprendre l’enquête ou prendre ou imposer toute mesure nécessaire.

Enquêtes sur plaintes retenues

Lorsqu’une plainte est retenue par le BDIEP, l’enquête est menée par des enquêteurs du BDIEP. Les plaintes retenues pour enquête peuvent être plus complexes ou contenir des allégations de nature sérieuse. 

Si, au cours de l’enquête, le directeur découvre que l’agent peut avoir commis un crime, la question sera renvoyée à la police pour une enquête plus approfondie. Le BDIEP n’a pas le pouvoir de mener des enquêtes criminelles.

Délais prévus pour les enquêtes

La Loi sur les services policiers exige que les agents mis en cause reçoivent un avis d’audience dans les six mois suivant la décision de retenir ou de renvoyer une plainte pour enquête. Pour que ce calendrier soit respecté, le BDIEP a fixé une mesure de performance de 120 jours pour qu’une plainte de conduite soit complétée une fois qu’une décision est prise de retenir une plainte ou de la renvoyer pour enquête. Des enquêtes plus complexes prennent souvent plus de six mois. Dans de tels cas, il faut demander une prolongation du délai à la commission pertinente de police.

Indépendamment du fait que le BDIEP ou la police enquêtent sur une plainte, l’enquêteur devrait informer le plaignant des points suivants :
  • Comment l’enquête sera menée sur la plainte
  • Quelle coopération est requise du plaignant
  • Comment une décision sera prise
  • Quelles mesures seront prises à la fin de l’enquête 

Rapports d’enquête

Les rapports d’enquête sont normalisés. Les enquêteurs du BDIEP et les enquêteurs de police utilisent le même format pour leurs rapports sur les plaintes concernant la conduite. Les rapports d’enquête comprennent :
  • Un résumé de la plainte
  • Un résumé des déclarations des personnes impliquées, y compris le plaignant, le ou les agents mis en cause et les témoins civils et agents
  • Les références à toute information mentionnée ou invoquée
  • Une description de l’enquête effectivement menée
  • Référence aux allégations touchant le code de conduite, qui sont déterminées par une enquête
  • Une analyse et une conclusion relativement à l’existence de motifs raisonnables de justifier une inconduite en vertu de la Loi sur les services policiers.

Motifs raisonnables

La Loi sur les services policiers stipule qu’il doit y avoir des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’une inconduite s’est produite pour qu’une plainte soit justifiée. Les motifs raisonnables dans un contexte de plaintes contre la police sont des faits ou des circonstances d’un cas qui conduiraient une personne ordinaire et prudente à croire qu’une inconduite a eu lieu. Cette conviction doit être plus qu’un soupçon ou une opinion d’inconduite et doit être objectivement fondée sur des preuves factuelles. 

Résultats d’enquête

Toutes les plaintes, qu’elles soient examinées par un service de police ou par le BDIEP, donneront l’un des trois résultats possibles – non fondée, fondée mais de moindre gravité, ou fondée et de nature sérieuse.

Dans les cas où un service de police enquête, le chef détermine si la plainte est fondée ou non fondée selon les normes énoncées dans la loi. Le plaignant, l’agent mis en cause et le BDIEP reçoivent le même rapport. Le BDIEP passe en revue le rapport d’enquête et, si des problèmes sont identifiés, le directeur informe le service de police de la façon appropriée. Cela peut inclure des instructions telles que répondre à des questions, interroger des témoins ou recueillir d’autres preuves. 

Lorsque le BDIEP enquête, le directeur détermine s’il existe des motifs raisonnables qui fondent la plainte. Si la plainte est fondée, le directeur déterminera également le degré de gravité de l’affaire. Si le directeur détermine qu’il n’y a pas de motifs raisonnables, la plainte n’est pas fondée. Une copie du rapport d’enquête et les conclusions du directeur sont envoyées au plaignant et au chef de la police. Le chef reçoit également une copie pour l’agent mis en cause.

Plaintes non fondées

Les plaintes peuvent également être jugées sans fondement s’il n’y a pas de motifs raisonnables de conclure qu’une violation du code de conduite de la police a eu lieu. La plainte est ensuite considérée comme fermée, sous réserve d’une demande de révision de la décision du chef ou du commissaire de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario. Si le BDIEP a enquêté sur la plainte, le seul moyen d’examiner la décision est par contrôle judiciaire.

Plaintes fondées de moindre gravité

Si une plainte est fondée, il faut également déterminer son degré de gravité. Les plaintes moins sérieuses peuvent être réglées de façon informelle si tout le monde est d’accord. Si le règlement informel n’a pas lieu, le chef peut régler le problème par voie de décision sans audience.
Si un plaignant n’est pas d’accord avec une enquête par la police et que la plainte est jugée non fondée ou de moindre gravité, le plaignant peut demander au BDIEP d’examiner la décision. Si un plaignant n’est pas d’accord avec une enquête par le BDIEP, le seul moyen d’examiner la décision est par contrôle judiciaire.

Les plaintes de moindre gravité englobent les affaires concernant :
  • biens personnels autres que l’argent ou les armes à feu;
  • traitement ou protection inéquitable d’une personne;
  • langage grossier, injurieux ou insultant;
  • Infraction à une loi ou à des règlements;
  • agissements portant atteinte à l’ordre public;
  • manquement au devoir;
  • refus de se conformer aux ordres;
  • non-signalement d’une situation;
  • omission d’un élément nécessaire dans un dossier;
  • une tenue ou apparence inappropriée;
  • actions susceptibles d’encourager les actes d’inconduite énumérée ci-dessus.

Plaintes fondées de nature sérieuse

Lorsque la conduite est jugée de nature sérieuse, le chef doit tenir une audience disciplinaire.

Les affaires considérées comme de nature sérieuse peuvent inclure :
  • Harcèlement
  • Discrimination
  • Violation de la confidentialité
  • Exercice illégal ou injustifié d’un pouvoir
  • Inconduite ou conduite qui pourrait entraîner une accusation criminelle
  • Conduite déshonorante
  • Manquement au devoir

Examen préliminaire des plaintes concernant les chefs de police et les chefs adjoints

Les plaintes concernant les chefs et chefs adjoints de corps de police municipaux et régionaux sont traitées différemment, car ces personnes sont employées par une commission des services policiers. Lorsque le BDIEP reçoit une plainte concernant un chef ou un chef adjoint, elle est examinée de la même manière que toute autre plainte. Toutefois, selon la Loi sur les services policiers, le BDIEP doit envoyer la plainte et la décision issue de l’examen préliminaire à la commission des services policiers appropriée, car les chefs et les chefs adjoints sont directement employés par les commissions. La commission des services policiers doit ensuite déterminer si le comportement allégué peut constituer une infraction pénale, une inconduite ou un rendement insatisfaisant et transmettre sa décision au BDIEP.

Si la commission est d’avis que la conduite du chef ou du chef adjoint n’est pas une infraction pénale ou une inconduite, elle ne prend aucune mesure en réponse à la plainte et informe le plaignant, le chef ou le chef adjoint et le BDIEP de la décision par écrit en indiquant ses motifs. Le plaignant ne peut pas interjeter appel de la décision de la commission mais peut déposer une demande de contrôle judiciaire. 

Si la commission des services policiers décide qu’il peut y avoir inconduite, elle doit renvoyer la plainte au BDIEP pour enquête. À la suite d’une enquête, le BDIEP fournit un rapport écrit à la commission des services policiers indiquant si la plainte est fondée – de nature sérieuse ou de moindre gravité – ou non fondée. Si la plainte n’est pas fondée, la commission ne prend aucune mesure à cet égard et informe le plaignant et le chef ou chef adjoint de la décision.

Si la plainte est fondée mais de moindre gravité, elle peut être réglée de manière informelle si le chef ou le chef adjoint et le plaignant sont d’accord. Si l’une ou l’autre des parties n’est pas d’accord, le conseil peut imposer une pénalité. Si le chef ou le chef adjoint n’est pas d’accord avec la sanction, il faut tenir une audience. 

Si la plainte est fondée et considérée comme de nature sérieuse, la commission doit tenir une audience sur la question ou renvoyer l’affaire à la Commission civile de l’Ontario sur la police pour tenir l’audience.

Plaintes au sujet du commissaire ou des sous-commissaires de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario

Conformément à la Loi sur les services policiers, les plaintes reçues au sujet du commissaire ou de sous-commissaires de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario sont renvoyées au ministre de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels. Bien que le BDIEP puisse recevoir des plaintes concernant le commissaire ou les sous-commissaires de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario, il ne mène ni enquête ni contrôle sur ces plaintes. 

Plaintes au sujet d’une politique ou d’un service

Le BDIEP mène un examen préliminaire sur les plaintes concernant les politiques et les services d’un corps de police et supervise chaque plainte, mais il ne mène pas d’enquête à leur sujet. Conformément à la Loi sur les services policiers​, les plaintes relatives aux politiques et aux services sont envoyées au chef de police compétent ou au commissaire de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario pour obtenir une réponse. Le chef ou le commissaire a 60 jours pour fournir un rapport écrit sur les plaintes relatives aux politiques et aux services au plaignant, au BDIEP et à la commission des services policiers, dans lequel il expose sa décision de prendre ou de ne pas prendre de mesures, avec des raisons.

Les décisions prises par le commissaire concernant les politiques provinciales de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario sont sans appel.

Dans le cas des services municipaux et régionaux, le plaignant peut faire appel de la décision du chef à la commission des services policiers appropriée dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de la décision.

La Police provinciale de l’Ontario a des politiques locales et provinciales. Les politiques locales de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario sont élaborées par une commission des services policiers pour guider un détachement de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario fournissant des services municipaux ou régionaux. Une décision concernant les politiques locales de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario peut faire l’objet d’un appel auprès de la commission locale des services policiers. 

Lorsqu’une commission reçoit une demande d’examen, elle doit :
  • informer le chef de police de la demande;
  • examiner la plainte et prendre une mesure, ou ne prendre aucune mesure, en réponse à la plainte, comme elle le juge approprié;
  • donner avis par écrit de la décision et des motifs de celle-ci au chef de police, au plaignant et au BDIEP.
Si la commission a plus de trois membres, elle a aussi les options suivantes :
  • créer un comité comprenant au moins trois de ses membres (dont deux constituent le quorum) pour examiner la plainte et faire des recommandations à la commission à l’issue de l’examen;
  • pendant la conduite d’un examen, la commission ou le comité de celle-ci peut tenir une réunion publique concernant la plainte, mais cette mesure n’est pas obligatoire;
  • examiner les recommandations du comité et prendre une mesure, ou ne prendre aucune mesure, en réponse à la plainte, comme elle le juge approprié;
  • donner avis par écrit de la décision et des motifs de celle-ci au plaignant, au chef de police et au BDIEP.