Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​SCREENING complaintS​​​

When the OIPRD receives a complaint, our staff insures the complaint form is complete and signed. If additional information is required before the complaint can be screened, a case coordinator will contact the complainant by phone or email before the complaint can proceed.

Our case coordinators examine each complaint to determine its type – conduct, policy or service complaint. 

All complaints are presumed to be screened in, unless there is a reason to screen out the complaint because it does not meet the requirements of a complaint under Section 60 of the Police Services Act (PSA). 

Complaints Screened Out

A complaint may be screened out for one of these reasons:

Bad faith: Complaints where there is clear evidence that it was made for an improper purpose or with a hidden motive, for example, a complaint made with the intention of deceiving the OIPRD or police services.

Better dealt with under another act/law: Complaints that are better dealt with by another authority, for example, a complaint that takes issue with the speed a person was travelling when they received a traffic ticket.

Frivolous: A complaint is frivolous when it does not reveal any allegation of misconduct or breach of the Code of Conduct, or is trivial, lacks substance or an air of reality.

No jurisdiction under section 58: The complaint is not about policy, service or conduct; the police officer the complaint is about does not fall under the jurisdiction of the OIPRD; or the complainant is excluded from filing a complaint.

Not in the public interest: Under section 60(4) of the PSA, the Director is permitted to screen out a complaint if “having regard to all the circumstances, dealing with the complaint is not in the public interest.” When the Director determines what may or may not be in the public interest, a broad range of factors are considered including the nature of the misconduct alleged.

The Director may consider the detail provided by the complainant, whether the action was a proper exercise of police discretion, the circumstances in which the conduct occurred, whether the conduct was connected to an occupational requirement and whether the conduct could bring the police force into disrepute. This list is not exhaustive. For example:
  • An officer standing in a dangerous location, like a busy highway, accused of yelling at the complainant to hurry up would be more likely to be screened out than an allegation of an officer yelling in a complainant’s driveway. Other factors considered when determining whether or not it is in the public interest to investigate a complaint, include:
  • The effect of a decision to investigate or not investigate a complaint on the public’s confidence in the accountability and integrity of the complaints system
  • Whether the issues are of systemic importance or there is a broader public interest at stake
  • If there is an ongoing police investigation and our investigation will interfere with the results of the police investigation
Over six months: Under section 60(2) and (3) of the PSA, the Director may decide not to deal with a complaint if it is filed more than six months after the occurrence of the incident cited in the complaint or when the incident was discovered by the complainant. The “six months” is not a limitation period. In determining whether to deal with a complaint older than six months, the Director may exercise his discretion and must consider the following criteria outlined in the act:
  • Whether the complainant is a minor or is under a disability within the meaning of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005
  • Whether the complainant is or was subject to criminal proceedings in respect of the events underlying the complaint
  • Whether, having regard to all the circumstances, it is in the public interest for the complaint to be dealt with
If a complaint is received after six months, the OIPRD may ask the complainant to provide reasons for the delay in filing. The Director will also consider when the complainant first learned of the alleged misconduct. All circumstances, including the reason for delay and the severity of the complaint, are considered. 

Prior to proclamation: The OIPRD can only deal with complaints about incidents that happened on or after October 19, 2009.

Third party criteria not met: Complainant is too remote from the incident. A complainant has to fit into one of the categories outlined under section 60(6) of the PSA. (Learn more about who can make a complaint)

Vexatious: A vexatious complaint may be one that was made out of anger or the desire to seek retribution. Vexatious complaints may lack a reasonable purpose or be made with the intention to harass or annoy, and are often repetitive (filing the same complaint numerous times after the previous complaint was screened out, or filing repeated complaints about the same person).

If your complaint is screened out, you will receive a detailed letter with the following information:
  • The name of the police service that is the subject of your complaint
  • The allegations in relation to the PSA Code of Conduct​
  • The Director’s decision and an explanation as to why the complaint was screened out
  • Information on how to appeal a screening decision by requesting a judicial review
A copy of your complaint and the screening decision will be sent to the police chief (or OPP Commissioner). The police chief or Commissioner may choose to share an anonymized copy of your complaint with the respondent police officer.

The Director’s screening decision is final. To appeal a screening decision, you must bring an application for a judicial review to the Ontario Superior Court.

Complaints that are screened out will not be investigated. 

Complaints Screened In

Complaints that are screened in will proceed to an investigation conducted by either a police service or the OIPRD Investigations Unit. As the OIPRD has a small team of investigators, most complaints are referred to back to the police service to be investigated by an officer with the professional standards unit. Professional standards investigators are specially trained to investigate complaints and other incidents of police misconduct. 

In some situations, your complaint may be referred to another police service that may be better equipped to handle a complaint investigation.

The OIPRD maintains oversight over all complaint investigations regardless of whether a police service or the OIPRD is conducting the investigation.

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

examen préliminaire des plaintes


Lorsque le BDIEP reçoit une plainte, son personnel vérifie que le formulaire de plainte est dûment rempli et signé. Si des renseignements supplémentaires sont nécessaires avant que la plainte puisse être vérifiée, un coordonnateur de cas communique avec le plaignant par téléphone ou par courrier électronique avant le traitement de la plainte.

Les coordonnateurs de cas examinent chaque plainte pour déterminer son type – conduite, politique ou service. 

Toute plainte est présumée acceptée, à moins qu’il n’y ait un motif de la refuser parce qu’elle ne répond pas aux exigences de l’article 60 de la Loi sur les services policiers

Plaintes refusées

Une plainte peut être refusée pour l’un des motifs suivants :

Le plaignant est de mauvaise foi. Il existe des preuves évidentes que la plainte a été formulée dans un but abusif ou pour un motif caché; par exemple, avec l’objectif de tromper le BDIEP ou les services de police.

La plainte relève d’une autre loi. La plainte relève d’une autre autorité; par exemple, si elle met en cause la vitesse inscrite sur la contravention d’un conducteur.

La plainte est frivole. Elle ne révèle aucune allégation d’inconduite ou de violation du Code de conduite, ou est triviale, sans substance ou sans apparence de réalité.

La plainte ne relève pas de l’article 58. La plainte ne porte pas sur la politique, le service ou conduite; l’agent visé par la plainte ne relève pas de la compétence du BDIEP; le plaignant n’a pas le droit de déposer une plainte.

La plainte n’est pas dans l’intérêt public. En vertu du paragraphe 60(4) de la LSP, le directeur est autorisé à refuser de traiter une plainte si « eu égard à toutes les circonstances, il n’est pas dans l’intérêt public de traiter la plainte ». Au moment de déterminer ce qui peut ou non être dans l’intérêt public, le directeur examine un large éventail de facteurs, y compris la nature de l’inconduite alléguée.

Le directeur peut examiner les détails fournis par le plaignant, la question de savoir s’il s’agit d’un exercice approprié du pouvoir discrétionnaire de la police, les circonstances dans lesquelles le comportement s’est produit, si le comportement est lié à une exigence professionnelle et s’il pouvait déconsidérer le corps de police. Cette liste n’est pas exhaustive. Par exemple :
  • Si un agent se tient dans un endroit dangereux, comme une route occupée, et est accusé de crier au plaignant de se dépêcher, cette plainte serait plus susceptible d’être éliminée qu’une allégation selon laquelle l’agent criait dans l’allée du plaignant. Les autres facteurs pris en compte pour déterminer s’il est ou non dans l’intérêt public d’enquêter sur une plainte comprennent ceux-ci :
  • L’effet d’une décision d’enquêter ou non sur une plainte sur la confiance du public dans la responsabilité et l’intégrité du système de traitement des plaintes.
  • La question de savoir si les problèmes ont une importance systémique ou si un intérêt public plus large est en jeu
  • Si notre enquête risque de perturber les résultats d’une enquête policière en cours.
Plus de six mois : En vertu des paragraphes 60(2) et (3) de la LSP, le directeur peut décider de ne pas traiter une plainte si elle est déposée plus de six mois après la survenance de l’incident cité dans la plainte ou le moment où l’incident a été découvert par le plaignant. Ces « six mois » ne représentent pas une période de prescription. Pour déterminer s’il faut traiter une plainte datant de plus de six mois, le directeur peut exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire et doit tenir compte des critères suivants énoncés dans la loi :
  • Le plaignant est-il mineur ou a un handicap au sens de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario​.
  • Le plaignant fait ou a fait l’objet d’une procédure pénale à l’égard des faits qui sous-tendent la plainte.
  • Au vu de toutes les circonstances, il est dans l’intérêt public de traiter la plainte.
Si une plainte est reçue après l’expiration du délai de six mois, le BDIEP peut demander au plaignant de justifier ce retard. Le directeur prendra également en considération le moment où le plaignant a pris connaissance de l’inconduite présumée. Toutes les circonstances, y compris le motif du retard et la gravité de la plainte, sont prises en considération. 

Avant la proclamation : Le BDIEP ne peut traiter que les plaintes concernant des incidents survenus à compter du 19 octobre 2009.
Non-respect de critères concernant les tiers : Le plaignant est trop éloigné de l’incident. Un plaignant doit appartenir à l’une des catégories décrites au paragraphe 60(6) de la LSP. (En savoir plus sur qui peut déposer une plainte.)

Plainte vexatoire : Une plainte qui a été faite par colère ou par désir de vengeance. Les plaintes vexatoires peuvent avoir un but raisonnable ou être faites avec l’intention de harceler ou d’agacer, et sont souvent répétitives (déposer la même plainte plusieurs fois après que la plainte précédente a été éliminée ou déposer des plaintes répétées à propos de la même personne).

Si votre plainte est éliminée, vous recevrez une lettre détaillée contenant les renseignements suivants :
  • Le nom du service de police qui fait l’objet de votre plainte
  • Les allégations relatives au Code de conduite en vertu de la LSP
  • La décision du directeur et une explication sur la raison pour laquelle la plainte a été rejetée
  • Des renseignements sur la manière d’en appeler d’une décision de sélection en demandant un contrôle judiciaire
Une copie de votre plainte et la décision de sélection seront envoyées au chef de la police (ou au commissaire de la Police provinciale). Le chef de la police ou le commissaire peut choisir de partager une copie anonyme de votre plainte auprès de l’agent de police mis en cause.
La décision du directeur à la suite de l’examen préliminaire est définitive. Pour faire appel de cette décision, vous devez présenter une demande de contrôle judiciaire à la Cour supérieure de l’Ontario.

Les plaintes qui ont été éliminées ne seront pas étudiées. 

Plaintes acceptées

Les plaintes qui sont acceptées passent à l’étape de l’enquête menée soit par un service de police soit par l’Unité des enquêtes du BDIEP. Comme le BDIEP ne dispose que d’une petite équipe d’enquêteurs, la plupart des plaintes sont renvoyées au service de police pour être examinées par un responsable de l’unité de normes professionnelles. Les enquêteurs des normes professionnelles sont spécialement formés pour enquêter sur les plaintes et autres incidents d’inconduite de la police. 

Dans certaines situations, votre plainte peut être renvoyée à un autre service de police qui pourrait être mieux équipé pour mener une enquête sur les plaintes.

Le BDIEP surveille toutes les enquêtes sur les plaintes, qu’il s’agisse de celle d’un service de police ou du BDIEP.