Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

POLICE SERVICES and BOARDS

Police Services

All police services must ensure that OIPRD complaint forms, brochures and posters are displayed and accessible to the general public. Complainants can file a complaint at any police station in Ontario.

The officer receiving the complaint must process it in confidence and must not release information that would cause the respondent or witness officers to receive notification of the complaint. Police services must forward completed complaint forms received at the station to the OIPRD electronically or by fax within three business days, and send the original by mail or courier.

Police officers who are identified as respondent officers as a result of a public complaint are notified by the police chief unless the Director or police chief believes to do so would jeopardize the integrity of the investigation. In that case the respondent officer is notified when the Director or police chief deems it appropriate.

Respondent officers are provided with the substance of the complaint made against them. In the most cases this is a copy of the complaint including the name of the complainant, but without personal information (such as home address) of the complainant or witness. Officers are required to respond to the complaint in full in the manner determined by the investigation. Officers have the opportunity to consult with an agent or representative prior to responding to the complaint provided it does not unduly delay the investigation. Where an interview has been scheduled, officers are entitled to have a representative present during the interview.

Local Resolution​

Less serious complaints may be resolved directly with a police service through Local Resolution with the consent of the complainant, chief of police or designated officer. 

Police Services Boards

Every municipal and regional police service in Ontario has a civilian police services board to provide general management, set policies and oversee the police service. Ontario Provincial Police detachments may also have a local police services board.

Under the Police Services Act​, boards may establish guidelines for dealing with complaints against police, and may review the chief's administration of the complaints system. Any guidelines established by the board must be in agreement with those established by the OIPRD. Where a municipality has contracted the Ontario Provincial Police for policing, the police board's responsibilities regarding public complaints are limited to reviewing the detachment commander's administration of the public complaints system, and receiving regular reports from the detachment commander on the administration of the system.

Performance Audits

The OIPRD has the mandate to conduct performance audits. There are two types.

For the first type of audit, the OIPRD may require a police services board to have a performance audit conducted at the board's expense to audit the board's administration of how their police service is dealing with public complaints. Such audits are conducted by an independent auditor under the direction of the OIPRD. The board must submit the results of the audit to the OIPRD.

The second type of audit is not solely directed to the board. The OIPRD may conduct an audit of any aspect of the administration of public complaints by boards or services under the Police Services Act. The OIPRD will make the results of these types of audits available to the public.

Complaints about Police Services Boards

To make a complaint about a police services board, contact the Ontario Civilian Police Commission or submit your complaint by email to: slastoinfo@ontario.ca.

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​Services de police et COMMISSIONS

Services de police

Tous les services de police doivent s’assurer que les formulaires de plainte, les brochures et les affiches du BDIEP sont exposés et accessibles au public. Les plaignants peuvent déposer une plainte dans n’importe quel poste de police de l’Ontario.

L’agent qui reçoit la plainte doit la traiter de manière confidentielle et ne pas divulguer des renseignements qui pourraient amener l’agent mis en cause ou les agents témoins à être informés de la plainte. Les services de police doivent transmettre au BDIEP les formulaires de plainte complets reçus au poste, par voie électronique ou par télécopie, dans les trois jours ouvrables, et envoyer l’original par courrier ou par messagerie.

Les agents de police qui sont mis en cause à la suite d’une plainte du public sont avisés par le chef de la police, sauf si le directeur ou le chef de police croit que cela compromettrait le déroulement de l’enquête. Dans ce cas, l’agent mis en cause est informé lorsque le directeur ou le chef de police le juge approprié.

Les agents mis en cause reçoivent le motif de la plainte déposée contre eux. Dans la plupart des cas, il s’agit d’une copie de la plainte, y compris le nom du plaignant, mais sans renseignements personnels (telles que l’adresse de résidence) du plaignant ou du témoin. Les agents doivent répondre pleinement à la plainte de la manière déterminée par l’enquête. Les agents ont la possibilité de consulter un agent ou un représentant avant de répondre à la plainte à condition de ne pas retarder indûment l’enquête. Lorsqu’une entrevue a été programmée, les agents ont le droit d’avoir un représentant présent lors de l’entrevue.

Résolution locale​

Les plaintes de moindre gravité peuvent être réglées directement dans un service de police par résolution locale avec le consentement du plaignant, du chef de police ou de l’agent désigné. 

Commission des services policiers

Tous les services de police municipaux et régionaux en Ontario ont une commission des services policiers civile pour assurer la gestion générale, établir des politiques et surveiller le service de police. Les détachements de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario peuvent également avoir une commission des services policiers locaux.

En vertu de la Loi sur les services policiers, les commissions peuvent établir des lignes directrices pour traiter les plaintes contre la police et peuvent examiner l’administration du système de traitement des plaintes par le chef. Les lignes directrices établies par le conseil doivent être en accord avec celles établies par le BDIEP. Lorsqu’une municipalité a contracté la police provinciale de l’Ontario pour les services de police, les responsabilités de la commission relativement aux plaintes déposées par des membres du public se limitent à examiner l’administration du système de traitement des plaintes du commandant du détachement et à recevoir des rapports réguliers de celui-ci sur l’administration du système.

Vérifications opérationnelles

Le BDIEP a le mandat de mener deux types de vérifications opérationnelles.

En ce qui concerne le premier type de vérification, le BDIEP peut exiger qu’une commission des services policiers fasse l’objet d’une vérification opérationnelle à ses propres frais pour vérifier l’administration des plaintes de la commission et la manière dont le service de police de la commission traite les plaintes du public. Ce type de vérification est effectué par un vérificateur indépendant sous la direction du BDIEP. La commission doit soumettre les résultats de la vérification au BDIEP.

Le deuxième type de vérification n’est pas uniquement à l’intention de la commission. Le BDIEP peut effectuer une vérification de tout aspect de l’administration des plaintes déposées par des membres du public par les conseils ou les services en vertu de la Loi sur les services policiers. Le BDIEP met les résultats de ces types de vérifications opérationnelles à la disposition du public.

Plaintes au sujet des commissions de police

Pour déposer une plainte auprès d’une commission des services policiers, communiquez avec la Commission civile de l’Ontario sur la police​ ou soumettez votre plainte par courriel à : slastoinfo@ontario.ca