Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​Informal Resolution

Informal Resolution is a way to resolve less serious complaints and can be attempted at any time during the OIPRD complaint process. The complainant, the respondent officer and the police chief or OPP Commissioner must all agree. 

The decision to recommend Informal Resolution depends on the circumstances of each case. Some examples of conduct that may be suitable for Informal Resolution include:
  • Discreditable conduct that does not involve a breach of trust
  • Incivility, including allegations of unfair or biased treatment or rude or profane language
  • Damage to clothing or property
  • Unlawful or unnecessary exercise of authority
  • Excessive use of force that does not result in serious injury
The OIPRD will advise the police service that Informal Resolution may be an option to explore prior to launching a complaint investigation. Informal Resolution may also be recommended at the conclusion of a conduct complaint that is substantiated as less serious.
Informal Resolution may not be a suitable way to resolve conduct complaints of a more serious nature, such as:
  • Deceit 
  • Corruption
  • Breach of confidence
  • Unlawful or unnecessary exercise of authority that results in serious injury
  • Incidents involving firearms or conducted energy weapons (Tasers) in a manner that is inconsistent with the Police Services Act
  • Conduct that would support a criminal charge  

Participation in Informal Resolution

The Informal Resolution may be facilitated by a senior officer designated by the police chief or OPP Commissioner. The complainant or respondent officer may withdraw from the process at any time, provided no agreement has been reached. 

Once a complainant and respondent officer have agreed to a proposed Informal Resolution, they have 12 days to change their minds. The party wishing to revoke must notify the Director and the chief of the affected police service, in writing, within the 12 days.

When an Informal Resolution agreement is signed and accepted by the Director, the file is considered closed. For an Informal Resolution to be considered complete, the agreed-upon resolution must have been carried out. For example, if training is part of the resolution, the training must have been completed for the Informal Resolution to be satisfied. The OIPRD requires the respondent officer to commit to a timeline and report any non-compliance of terms. The OIPRD also monitors Informal Resolutions to ensure all resolutions are carried out.
Informal Resolution via Mediation, coordinated by the OIPRD, may be requested if the regular Informal Resolution process in unsuccessful.
​​

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Règlement informel

Le règlement informel est un moyen de résoudre les plaintes de moindre gravité et peut être tenté à tout moment pendant le processus de plainte du BDIEP. Le plaignant, l’agent mis en cause et le chef de la police ou le commissaire de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario doivent tous être d’accord. 

La décision de recommander un règlement informel dépend des circonstances de chaque cas. Quelques exemples de comportements susceptibles de faire l’objet d’un règlement informel comprennent ceux-ci :
  • Conduite déshonorante sans abus de confiance
  • Manque de civilité, y compris les allégations de traitement injuste ou partial ou d’utilisation de langage injurieux ou blasphématoire
  • Dommages aux vêtements ou à l’équipement
  • Exercice illégal ou injustifié d’un pouvoir
  • Utilisation excessive de la force qui ne cause pas de blessures graves
Le BDIEP informera le service de police que le règlement informel peut être une option à explorer avant de lancer une enquête. Un règlement informel peut également être recommandé à l’issue d’une plainte sur une conduite qui est jugée de moindre gravité.

Le règlement informel n’est pas toujours un bon moyen de résoudre les plaintes sur une conduite de nature plus sérieuse, comme :
  • Tromperie 
  • Corruption
  • Manquement à l’obligation de confidentialité
  • Exercice illégal ou injustifié d’un pouvoir qui cause des blessures graves
  • Incidents impliquant des armes à feu ou des armes à impulsion (Tasers) en contravention avec la Loi sur les services policiers
  • Conduite qui donnerait lieu à une accusation criminelle 

Participation au règlement informel

Le règlement informel peut être facilité par un officier supérieur désigné par le chef de la police ou le commissaire de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario. Le plaignant ou l’agent mis en cause peut se retirer du processus à tout moment, à condition qu’aucun accord n’ait été conclu. 

Une fois qu’un plaignant et un agent mis en cause ont accepté le règlement informel proposé, ils ont 12 jours pour changer d’avis. La partie qui souhaite se rétracter doit aviser par écrit le directeur et le chef du service de police concerné dans les 12 jours.

Lorsqu’un accord de règlement informel est signé et accepté par le directeur, le dossier est considéré comme fermé. Pour qu’un règlement informel soit considéré comme complet, il faut que le règlement convenu ait été exécuté. Par exemple, si la formation fait partie du règlement, elle doit avoir eu lieu pour que le règlement informel soit considéré comme exécuté. Le BDIEP exige que l’agent mis en cause s’engage à respecter un calendrier d’exécution et signale tout non-respect des conditions de l’entente. Le BDIEP surveille également les règlements informels pour s’assurer de leur mise à exécution.

Le règlement informel au moyen de la médiation, coordonnée par le BDIEP, peut être demandé en cas d’échec du règlement informel ordinaire.