Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Mediation

Informal Resolution via Mediation

Mediation may be proposed in situations where the parties are willing to resolve the matter with the assistance of a neutral third party. As with Informal Resolution, the complainant, the respondent officer and the police chief must all agree. This process is coordinated by the OIPRD.

If the OIPRD approves mediation, an OIPRD staff mediator or a mediation service approved and contracted by the OIPRD will be engaged to determine whether the case can be mediated. If the case cannot be mediated, it will be returned to the police service or the OIPRD for investigation.

If it is determined that the case can be mediated, the mediation will be conducted. If the mediation is successful the parties will sign an agreement, which must be approved by the Director. There is no cooling off period. The complaint case will then be closed as "Informal Resolution via Mediation."

 A decision not to participate in mediation will have no impact on a complainant’s or respondent officer’s rights in the complaints process.

Enhanced Mediation Program – Pilot Project

The Enhanced Mediation Program (EMP) is a one-year pilot until December 31, 2017, project developed to proactively encourage (in a more systematic manner) Informal Resolution via Mediation for screened-in complaints of a less serious nature, before the start of the investigation process. 

In this program, the OIPRD will determine whether a complaint is suitable for Informal Resolution via Mediation and make a recommendation to the parties to attempt to resolve the complaint informally via mediation. Participation is voluntary and all parties must consent to the process. The complainant will have five days after being contacted by the OIPRD to decide whether or not to participate in the EMP and provide reasons for choosing not to participate. 

If both the complainant and responding officer agree, mediation is arranged by the OIPRD and may be conducted by an OIPRD mediator or by a mediation service contracted by the OIPRD. If a resolution is reached and approved by the Director, both parties will sign an Informal Resolution via Mediation Agreement that would be binding on the parties (no cooling off period). Any conditions to an agreement between the parties must also be met before the agreement can be approved. The complaint file will be closed as Informally Resolved via Mediation.
If either party declines to participate in EMP, or if the mediation is unsuccessful, the complaint will proceed to the investigation process. 
A complaint in the EMP must be dealt with within 45 days, unless the OIPRD grants an extension. 

The EMP pilot project involves the following 12 police services:
  • Barrie Police Service
  • Brantford Police Service
  • Durham Regional Police Service
  • Halton Regional Police Service
  • Kawartha Lakes Police Service
  • Niagara Regional Police Service
  • Ontario Provincial Police
  • Peel Regional Police Service
  • Sault Ste. Marie Police Service
  • Toronto Police Service
  • Waterloo Regional Police Service
  • York Regional Police Service

Community Mediation

The OIPRD encourages the use of community mediation, a facilitative and transformative model of conflict resolution that best suits the goals of the OIPRD’s mediation program. It encourages individuals in conflict to share their recognition of each other’s perspectives and provides an opportunity for both the complainant and the respondent officer to learn from their interactions. Mediators are impartial and work in the interests of the parties involved in a conflict.

The OIPRD accesses mediation services on an “as required” basis by selecting a mediation service from the Ontario government vendor of record roster for each assignment. Mediation services are chosen based on location and availability to undertake the mediation quickly.

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Médiation

Règlement informel au moyen de la médiation

La médiation peut être proposée dans les situations où les parties sont disposées à régler le problème avec l’aide d’un tiers neutre. Comme pour le règlement informel, le plaignant, l’agent mis en cause et le chef de la police doivent tous être d’accord. Ce processus est coordonné par le BDIEP.

Si le BDIEP approuve la médiation, un médiateur du personnel du BDIEP ou un service de médiation approuvé et contracté par le BDIEP sera engagé pour déterminer si le cas peut faire l’objet d’une médiation. Dans la négative, le dossier sera renvoyé au service de police ou au BDIEP pour enquête.

Dans l’affirmative, la médiation aura lieu. Si la médiation réussit, les parties signeront un accord, qui doit être approuvé par le directeur. Il n’y a pas de période de réflexion. Le dossier de plainte est fermé à la suite de l’atteinte d’un « Règlement informel au moyen de la médiation ».

La décision de ne pas participer à la médiation n’aura pas d’impact sur les droits du plaignant ou de l’agent mis en case dans le cadre du processus de plainte.

Programme amélioré de médiation – Projet pilote

Le Programme amélioré de médiation (PAM) est un projet pilote d’un an jusqu’au 31 décembre 2017. Il est conçu pour encourager de manière proactive (de manière plus systématique) le règlement informel par médiation pour les plaintes sélectionnées d’une moindre gravité avant le début du processus d’enquête. 

Dans ce programme, le BDIEP déterminera si une plainte est adaptée au règlement informel par médiation et fait une recommandation aux parties pour tenter de résoudre la plainte de manière informelle par voie de médiation. La participation est volontaire, et toutes les parties doivent accepter le processus. Le plaignant aura cinq jours après avoir été contacté par le BDIEP pour décider de participer ou non au PAM et fournir des raisons de ne pas y participer. 

Si le plaignant et l’agent en cause sont d’accord, la médiation est organisée par le BDIEP et peut être menée par un médiateur du BDIEP ou par un service de médiation contracté par le BDIEP. Si une résolution est atteinte et approuvée par le directeur, les deux parties signeront une résolution informelle par accord de médiation qui sera obligatoire pour les parties (pas de période de réflexion). Toutes les conditions d’un accord entre les parties doivent également être remplies avant que l’accord puisse être approuvé. Le dossier de plainte est fermé à la suite de l’atteinte d’un « Règlement informel au moyen de la médiation ».

Si l’une ou l’autre des parties refuse de participer au PAM, ou si la médiation échoue, la plainte passera au processus d’enquête. 
Une plainte dans le cadre du PAM doit être traitée dans les 45 jours, à moins que le BDIEP n’accorde une prorogation. 

Le projet pilote de PAM vise les 12 services de police suivants :
  • Service de police de Barrie
  • Service de police de Brantford
  • Service de police régional de Durham
  • Service de police régional de Halton
  • Service de police de Kawartha Lakes
  • Service de police régional de Niagara
  • Police provinciale de l’Ontario
  • Service de police régional de Peel
  • Service de police de Sault Ste. Marie
  • Service de police de Toronto
  • Service de police régional de Waterloo
  • Service de police régional de York

Médiation communautaire

Le BDIEP encourage l’utilisation de la médiation communautaire, un modèle facilitant et transformateur de résolution des conflits qui correspond le mieux aux objectifs de son programme de médiation. Ce modèle de règlement encourage les personnes en conflit à s’échanger leurs perspectives et permet, tant au plaignant qu’au policier en cause, de tirer les leçons de leur interaction. Les médiateurs communautaires sont impartiaux et travaillent dans l’intérêt des parties prenantes.

Le BDIEP utilise des services de médiation selon ses besoins, en sélectionnant un service de médiation offert par l’un des fournisseurs attitrés du gouvernement de l’Ontario pour chaque mandat. Les services de médiation sont choisis selon des critères géographiques et de disponibilité, dans l’objectif de pouvoir commencer la médiation rapidement.